Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#214022 - 2021-10-07 12:55 PM Kixtart Future?
Robdutoit Offline
Hey THIS is FUN

Loc: London, England
Dear all,

I have been a very happy user of Kixtart. I am not a programmer, so I like the simplicity of Kixtart compared to other programs which seem to require quite a lot of code to do even the simplest of things. Not to mention the poor documentation many languages have.

I am just wanting to hear feedback on the future of Kixtart? I fully understand that many younger technicians are into Powershell and outsourcing all their work to Microsoft via the cloud! So I do understand why Kixtart has declined in popularity to a large extent. Which is a shame, because I think Kixtart is so much better.

However, Kixtart still has something that Powershell etc does not. The sense of community here, not a faceless corporation.

I still use Kixtart for all my startup and logon scripts. Works beautifully and I have never had any issues. But even I can see that Kixtart is starting to show it's age with lack of support for things like:

@Producttype bug for Server 2019.

@domain Variable returns Netbios name. The DNS name is far more relevant now than Netbios.

If I want to get rid of all the apps like Xbox crap on Windows - I have to use Powershell to delete the apps from the computer completely. While it works, it's a pity that I could not do this via Kixtart.