Page 3 of 7 <12345>Last »
Topic Options
#206597 - 2013-01-27 11:01 PM Re: The Joy of Windows 8 [Re: BradV]
Robdutoit Offline
Hey THIS is FUN

Loc: London, England
The question I ask when I upgrading, is what can the new OS version do, that the current version cannot. As a network technician, I find Windows 7 ridiculously trouble free to image compared to Windows XP. And there are a number of other advantages, hence the reason to upgrade. With Windows 8, having read this forum and just general reviews on the Internet, I think I will give windows 8 a miss. It feels like a beta version of the product. In most businesses, a touch screen is just not doable, so I don't see the point of Microsoft's insistence on designing W8 to be optimal in touch screen mode.
glenn Barnas points about visual ability is a very important as many older people will have the same issue - can't see anything. its been interesting reading, but I will give Windows 8 a miss. The only major advantage of W8 over windows 7 is the ability to natively use virtual servers, but as neither myself nor any of my clients require this feature, I won't lose sleep over it. The only other thing I like is the boot time, but its not enough to make me upgrade to w8

#206598 - 2013-01-28 06:41 AM Re: The Joy of Windows 8 [Re: Robdutoit]
ShaneEP Moderator Offline
MM club member

Loc: Tulsa, OK
Anybody know if there are any easy roll-back options if I was to upgrade my personal pc from Win 7 to 8...and then hate it? I've been curious to work with it a little, and was thinking of upgrading before the upgrade price goes up this week.
#206599 - 2013-01-28 02:38 PM Re: The Joy of Windows 8 [Re: ShaneEP]
Glenn Barnas Administrator Offline
KiX Supporter

Loc: New Jersey
If you have an external drive large enough, you can snapshot your boot and system volumes booting with WinPE and running the imageX command. It's the Microsoft tool to capture and deploy disk images for Sysprep, but I've used it to do what you're after.