Raceeend
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2002-06-19 10:35 AM
Displaying a dot when installing

Hi,

How do i display a dot when installing something via the login script? So that the user do think it is stopped.

Regards,
Martijn


JochenAdministrator
(KiX Supporter)
2002-06-19 10:46 AM
Re: Displaying a dot when installing

Martijn,

a single dot ?

"."

or even :

at(x,y)"."

Or do I miss something ?

[Big Grin]

Jochen


Raceeend
(Starting to like KiXtart)
2002-06-19 10:50 AM
Re: Displaying a dot when installing

No not a single dot i could have made that one myself [Smile]

But just like when you start a service, a continuos dot which stops when ready installing.


JochenAdministrator
(KiX Supporter)
2002-06-19 11:10 AM
Re: Displaying a dot when installing

Well,

how about a spinner ?

this one uses xnet as service checker (run it with V 4.10)

code:
break on

$ = setoption("HideCursor","on")

at(5,10) "Starting Spooler ..."

run '%ComSpec% /c net start Spooler >nul'

shell '%ComSpec% /c xnet list Spooler |find /C "Running" >nul'
while @error
$c = $c + 1
select
case $c = 1 at(5,31)'\'
case $c = 2 at(5,31)'|'
case $c = 3 at(5,31)'/'
case 1 at(5,31)'-' $c = 0
endselect
sleep 0.050
shell '%ComSpec% /c xnet list spooler |find /C "Running" >nul'
loop

at(5,31)"done"


get $

(Maybe replace spooler service with one that takes more time to start [Roll Eyes] )


MCA
(KiX Supporter)
2002-06-19 11:11 AM
Re: Displaying a dot when installing

Dear,

Take a look at the topic
http://81.17.37.55/board/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=12;t=000079
http://81.17.37.55/board/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=12;t=000170
http://81.17.37.55/board/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=12;t=000173
It shows different kind of progress bars.
greetings.


JochenAdministrator
(KiX Supporter)
2002-06-19 11:16 AM
Re: Displaying a dot when installing

Yeah , progress bars !

To get the complete story you might want to have a look at the mother of all progress bar discussions here [Big Grin]

[ 19 June 2002, 13:10: Message edited by: jpols ]


Kdyer
(KiX Supporter)
2002-06-19 03:09 PM
Re: Displaying a dot when installing

Progress bar would be great. However, it seems to me that this is still "eye candy." Meaning, that the progress is not "real-time" or, am I missing the point?

Kent


Les
(KiX Master)
2002-06-19 03:33 PM
Re: Displaying a dot when installing

Here's one approach I use.

code:
? "We have now to install IBM CA but first cleanup from prior installs"
SHELL 'deltree /Y "%TEMP%\_ISTMP*.DIR"'
CLS
? "Launching the main install"
run '"\\ffsms\Seed\IBM Client Access\Express\Setup.exe" -S'

;? "Waiting for the core install to start"
sleep 3

? "Waiting for the core install to finish" ?
$Index = 0
while exist("%temp%\_ISTMP1.DIR")
"."
sleep 10
$Index = $Index + 1
if $index > 20
$RC = MessageBox("NOTICE!" + Chr(13) + "Installation did not complete within a reasonable time!"
+ Chr(13) + "Please notify the FF HelpDesk at ext. 1864","IBM Client Access Express",48,60)
goto finish
endif
Loop



[ 19 June 2002, 15:33: Message edited by: LLigetfa ]


LonkeroAdministrator
(KiX Master Guru)
2002-06-19 03:43 PM
Re: Displaying a dot when installing

les, why you clean up the prior installs?

I use CA upgrade and it works just great.


Les
(KiX Master)
2002-06-19 03:59 PM
Re: Displaying a dot when installing

Jooel,
In the above example, I use RUN to start the install and then check for the existence or "%temp%\_ISTMP1.DIR". If I didn't clean up from prior installs, and a folder called "_ISTMP1.DIR" already existed, the folder used by this install would not be called "_ISTMP1.DIR". I would then be waiting on a folder that is not destined to go away.


Kdyer
(KiX Supporter)
2002-06-19 08:03 PM
Re: Displaying a dot when installing

Les,

That is an interesting approach..

Maybe another way to look at this.. Look for the SETUP.EXE or INSTALL.EXE in memory.

Kent