Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#130060 - 2004-11-23 01:36 AM how to run a file in a kix script
Anonymous
Unregistered

I need to create a script to put in Scritplogic Desktop Authority but I have never used Kix before

what I wanted to do was
start \\daedm-tdb12804\trackit\installers\workstationmanager\TiwsMgr.exe
start \\daedm-tdb12804\trackit\audit32.exe

What I have so far is and does not work is

;ScriptLogic Custom Script File
; File Name: todd.kix
; Description: todd.kix
;
;----------------------------------------------------------
run \\daedm-tdb12804\trackit\installers\workstationmanager\TiwsMgr.exe
run \\daedm-tdb12804\trackit\audit32.exe
;----------------------------------------------------------
RETURN ; Must be last line of file. Do not remove this line

The 2 programs it runs could take from 30 to 90 seconds. What is best way to do this. This script will be inside another script hence the return command.

Thanks for help
Todd

#130061 - 2004-11-23 01:51 AM Re: how to run a file in a kix script
Les Offline
KiX Master

Loc: fortfrances.on.ca
I doulbt there are very many ScriptLogic users here but as far as you KiX code, you are missing the 'quotes'.

I don't know if Start is a custom SL UDF but it certainly is not native KiX. The KiX way would be:
Code:
SHELL '\\daedm-tdb12804\trackit\installers\workstationmanager\TiwsMgr.exe' 
SHELL '\\daedm-tdb12804\trackit\audit32.exe'

#130062 - 2004-11-23 02:11 AM Re: how to run a file in a kix script
NTDOC Administrator Offline
Administrator

Loc: CA
Well I would think that ScriptLogic would have documentation on ideas for deploying the Helpdesk Authority in the first place as your users will need to have local admin rights in order to install it via a logon script.

You can probably push this out via a GPO or as a Remote Admin script. If your users have local admin rights then you could just run it as Les has shown.

#130063 - 2004-11-23 02:21 AM Re: how to run a file in a kix script
Anonymous
Unregistered